PROPOSAL UPDATE

PROPOSAL UPDATE

The purpose of my project is to analyse the Chaos Theory and communicate it to the audience. I will investigate the relationship between probability and the environment, how the effects of small occurrences can dramatically affect the outcomes of seemingly unrelated events. I will research the ways in which we can predict the unpredictable in the environment.

Field of study & Methodology

I will be using technical research on v4, photoshop, after effects and fruityloops to execute my project on a windows computer.  I will study and assess the potential these software have in creating the final outcome to the project. They will help create photo manipulations, fractal shapes and a soundtrack that will reflect the solution of the problem be addressed.

I will look at visual research of inspirational artists to analyse the different drawing styles of data visualisation and outcomes of users’ projects. This will be done through looking at other peoples work and comparing them to each other to see a historical development in design aesthetic and idea.

I will include theoretical research with authors who inspire me including: David Kirby and his publication on diegetic prototypes and real work technological development,  Matteo Pasquinelli and his article on Page rank, Luciana Parisi and her article on the contagious architecture and Huang Han Gromiha. Comparing the theorists to one another allows me to gain some understanding and answers to how occurrences in the environment around us has an impact on the future and to which extent this can be predicted.

In order to keep track of my progress, I will create a Gantt chart that illustrates the start and finish dates of the different elements to my project. This will help me maintain my time management skills and follow a strict schedule that will keep me on track to creating my artefact in the most effective and organised manner. As I progress through my project I will update the gantt chart and show the development of it including: change of dates, elements added, resources added and time delay.

Context

My goal will be to create an interactive prototype that communicates with the audience of how sea level rising has an impact on the earth throughout a timeframe of 86 years. I will manage to complete this through the use of software used for developing animation, sound design and interactive environment. The final piece will attract other designers due to the aesthetic complexity of data presented simply and those who are interested in global warming.

The sound design will be made to create a space feel to the artefact so that the user can feel emerged with the artefact.

By the 19th of January I will have my proposal and research finished with ideas mind mapped. By the 2nd of March I will start to being prototyping and will be finished with the artefact by 16h April.

Skills Evidence

 

My skills will be evident through my blog, where I will be posting graphics that reflect on my research, evaluated feedback, time planning and the progress to my final end product. These will be in the form of screenshots, text and videos.

Rationale

We are surrounded by implications by our actions where probabilities of predicting the future can be seen as impossible, this project will allow me to address how the butterfly effect can affect us in our daily lives and the future. I will be able to inform the audience making them aware of their own surroundings and how global warming can affect their environment.

Research Methodology

My research will be conducted primarily through my secondary research. I will be formulating my conclusions based on my secondary and tertiary research. I will be categorising and sorting out my findings into appropriate sections/categories which will allow me to be more organised with my project.

The aims of my project that is mentioned in the functional specification will be focussed on with regards to my research. Throughout my project I will be using formative and summative testing alongside user feedback to help me make appropriate decision changes to my project. The user feedback I receive will help me evaluate my work critically. Reflective design practice will help me develop my self-awareness of critical design and help maintain a high professional level of work.

I am planning to produce a motion graphic video and will be working towards a video that communicates the effect of global warming, seal level rising, on the planet. My research will help me to complete this aim.

To maintain good time management, I will be updating my blog consistently with my work and research. This will allow me to keep track of my progress. I will attempt to post any graphics that will help show my progress. I have produced a gantt chart to help me manage my time wisely and to keep me on schedule.